Blog · Fiction

Let’s Go Back To How It Was Before

I remember when we used to speak every day

Going out, enjoying ourselves and munching in cafés

Gathering the squad and enjoying a day in

But now those days seem to be wearing thin

We’re not kids anymore and I understand that

But you don’t run away, making me look a prat

The corners of the world you will travel to

And I’m stuck here like my home is made of glue

You guys get up move around like a post-it

Note that it isn’t so easy for me to commit

Yards and meet ups were common occurrences

Now I’m alone and surrounded by broken fences

Lets go back to how it was before

Every day since has felt like a chore

It seems weird thinking we only just met

My friends and I, picturesque in a noir vignette

The suns out we used to think

Lets enjoy the rays and knock back a few drinks

Tell stories and jokes while laughing it up

Commend each other and clink cups

Return home hugging our goodbyes

Every day shared felt like a game show prize

I’ll never have friends like those

Every one seems to move on. To them its as easy as putting on new clothes

Well I’m finding it a little hard to comprehend

How people just uproot, move on and let it end

Let’s go back to how it was before

Every day since has felt like a chore

Leave a Reply

