Blog

Means to an achievable and satisfying end

Shuffling of feet. Murmuring of dismay. The abysmal smell of a hard day’s sweat. These are common occurrences and stigmas of travel, or more specifically public transport travel; the bane and yet the saviour of a sociable university students life. Yes, I called myself sociable. Arrogant much?

Buying and renewing a travel card may give me a sense of adult fulfillment and calm as I don’t have to endure through small menial installments and top ups but it also thrusts me into the life of a train user. More often then not I find myself mushed up against a person I will never encounter ever again. My body distorted in ways I should flex all so I can avoid getting on the next train, which will be as packed and unbearable.

“What makes me laugh is that, due to peak time train journeys, I have been physically closer to people I have never met more than I have been to some of my dearest friends”

It’s not natural. It’s annoying and laughable and I’m sure it’s a process everyone will have to go through at one stage in his or her life.

Now, this isn’t a rant about the transport system. Quite contrarily, it is an opener to how one needs to tunnel through crap to get to the redemption, the fulfillment and the enjoyment. In other words, if you want the rainbow, you have to put up with the rain. I, however, prefer the great Karl Pilkington saying, ‘Cat Food … smells a bit, but if you don’t put up with it, the little kitten’s going to die’. Yes, I know, it doesn’t have quite the same suave and poignancy of rainbows and showers but you get the point. Whilst I hate the transport and interaction with people from a hard day’s work, I love the light at the end of the tunnel. I like going to university and learning about the field I wish to be successful at. I love returning home to my engulfing and inviting couch. I enjoy meeting up with good friends for cups of coffee or meals.

“All this, train journeys, early mornings, early nights, deadlines and chores, they are all means to an achievable and satisfying end.”

Leave a Reply

